TAPPI Announces 2021 Award Winners for the Engineering and Pulp Manufacture Divisions

Industry People
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

“Each year, these awards are presented to individuals whose many contributions to the Divisions and TAPPI make a positive and lasting impact on the industry and those who work in it." - Engineering Division Chair Danny Tandra, Clyde Industries and Pulp Manufacture Chair Tom Mullen

The annual in-person awards presentations, normally given during the PEERS/IBBC
Conferences, were not held due to the rescheduling of the 2021 event to
October 30 – November 3, 2022 in Providence, RI.

Pulp Manufacture Division

tappi 1nov21 2Leadership & Service Award and Joseph K. Perkins Prize

This award recognizes individuals for outstanding leadership and exceptional service, resulting in significant and demonstrable benefits to the Division’s members.

Carl J. Houtman, Ph.D.
USDA Forest Products Laboratory

Engineering Division

tappi 1nov21 3Technical Award and Beloit Prize

The Division Technical Award is intended to recognize outstanding accomplishments or contributions, which have advanced the industry's technology in the awarding Division's field of interest.

J. Peter Gorog, Ph.D.
Houghton Cascade Holdings LLC

tappi 1nov21 4Leadership and Service Award

The Division Leadership and Service Award is intended to recognize an individual for outstanding leadership and exceptional service to the awarding Division which have resulted in significant and demonstrable benefits to the Division's members.

Paul Krochak, Ph.D.
RISE Research Institute

View all award and scholarship winners

Source: TAPPI